School & teachers, Uncategorized

Learning Is For Life

Back in elementary school, when I was around 9 or 10 years old, my teacher called my name in the classroom and told in front of everyone that I am the most hard working person among them. At that time, just in the moment of my teacher´s recognition, I felt awkward as I didn´t want to be in the sole centre of attention. But the revelation and acknowledgment of someone older and experienced came as a nice compliment.

I showed great dedication, interest and self discipline from young age. Were it only my character traits, or my parents had they role in my education?

I think both of the aforementioned facts share its relevance. My parents always encouraged me to learn, to observe and to pay attention to the world around me. They played games with me, taught me how to read, they signed me for countless activities. I played tennis, learned Spanish and German, played piano…

It all shaped me as a person- through my activities I learned the power of knowledge and became self sufficient. I learned to strive for better and put lots of effort in achieving my goals. In my family, my mother was always helping my brother and sister in studying and preparing for school, yet she didn´t have to do the same with me.

Although I sometimes felt overwhelmed from all the pressure and demand that came hand in hand with my strict school, I took my obligations seriously. My days were always beginning with studying and at the end of the day, not so late in the night, it would only take me a few minutes to fall asleep.

When the end of the school year would be approaching, I would make a calendar and cross each day which passed- I was counting days until Summer.

Learning and working habits are behaviours which require lots of conscious effort and sacrifice, therefore some never form them. Families which provide encouragement and which place high value on education will more likely spike same interests in their offspring.

Luckily, I came from one of those families and despite having had some struggles, I am on a continuos path of studying, improvement and gaining more and more knowledge.

Because that is the best path, I can assure you.

Standard

Leave a Reply

