The Reader´s Dilemma: Paper Book Or E-Book?

If you are a passionate reader, apart from reading newspapers or blogs, you probably read paper books and its digital form: e-books. Here I would like to write about some advantages and disadvantages of reading former and the latter types.

Also there are many audio books on the market, but I won´t be writing about them.

Paper books give you that feeling of enjoying the moment while being immersed in reading when holding a book physically in your hand. Some people connect reading paper version of books with that cozy feeling while drinking cup of hot cocoa or coffee.

Although you can virtually turn pages on your laptop or Kindle device, it can´t really measure up with turning pages with your hand. Furthermore, the light of your computer screen may not feel as comfortable for your eyes as reading book under daylight in your armchair or in bed.

With paper books you can make your own library in tangible form, and not just have them downloaded on your screen as pdf-s.

Sometimes I like to buy e-books because I like the fact that I can have books right here, in this moment, without having to leave the house, but more often I like reading “real books”.

The other day I was talking with my boss, who is in his late forties, how he can not understand young people now days who want to have everything in an instant like purchasing e-books. He asked me then: don´t we like the anticipation of ordering books from store and then waiting for them to arrive to our homes versus having our desires immediately met?

I couldn´t give him any good answer for the reason that I read and buy both versions of books.

The one´s I prefer depend on the moment- when I find out about some great book- I usually cannot wait for the shipping to arrive, but to be honest- paperbacks have its own charm…

2 thoughts on “The Reader´s Dilemma: Paper Book Or E-Book?

  1. whether i would purchase an e-book or not depends on the e-book. first of all, i usually prefer to have it in paper.

    if its not available in paper, i want it to be drm-free. amazon still controls your library after you purchase from them, and to me it is unacceptable for leasing to replace the concept of purchasing when it comes to books.

    they are not allowed to call ice cream “ice cream” unless it contains a certain amount of milk fat.

    they should not be allowed to use the words “buy” or “purchase” unless you control the book that youre paying for. they should be legally require to use the word “lease.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

